2014 Scholarship Winners


The IBC Education Foundation (IBCEF) and Colorado’s independent community banks announced the recipients of their 19th Annual Scholarship Competition on April 11, 2014 in conjunction with Colorado MoneySmart Week. Requirements of the scholarship competition were: A cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher; attendance at a public or private Colorado university, college, junior college, community college, vocational/trade school; a banking relationship at an IBC member bank, completion of an application and essay question. The IBCEF awarded a total of $2,000 in scholarships. Scholarships were awarded in two categories: Bank customer and bank employee or child of a bank employee. Each recipient received a one time $1,000 scholarship. ZACHARY RITCHIE, sponsored by ALPINE BANK, will graduate from Roaring Fork High School and is the recipient in the bank customer category. He plans to attend University of Colorado and major in BM Jazz Studies. The recipient in the child of a bank employee category was: BENJAMIN WHARTON, sponsored by YAMPA VALLEY BANK in Steamboat Springs. Benjamin will graduate from Steamboat Springs High School and plans to attend either University of Colorado or University of Denver. He plans to major in Biological Sciences/Pre-Medical. We wish both Zachary and Benjamin the best of luck in pursuing their educational goals